1. Sinfoniekonzert - Kumin

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Ouvertüre »Die Entführung aus dem Serail« KV 384

Fazil Say
»Khayyam« concert for clarinette and Orchestra

Richard Strauss
»Also sprach Zarathustra«

With the overture to »Die Entführung aus dem Serail«, Mozart created music that not only takes up the plot of the opera, but also refers to the sounds of »Janissary music«. In »Khayyam«, his clarinet concerto written in 2011, the Turkish composer Fazil Say dedicates himself to the life of the 11th-century polymath of the same name, whose sensations and feelings are given expression in the three movements. Among the milestones of programme music is Richard Strauss' »Also sprach Zarathustra«, which was inspired by Nietzsche's philosophy and inspired the composer to an extraordinarily colourful realisation.

Our soloist Lyuta Kobayashi is sponsored by the GVL and the Deutscher Musikwettbewerb, a project of Deutscher Musikrat.



Language Deutsch und Englisch mit deutschen Übertiteln.


Musikalische Leitung Christopher Ward
Dramaturgie Fabian Bell
Sinfonieorchester Aachen
Klarinette Lyuta Kobayashi